Select Page

NALEO Elect’s New Board

NALEO Elect’s New Board

The National Association of Latino Elected and Appointed Officials (NALEO) today announced the re-election of its President, Dallas County Treasurer Pauline Medrano, and board leadership to an additional one-year term at the group’s 35th Annual Conference in Phoenix.

Board officers re-elected during the organization’s board of directors meeting on June 22, 2018 include: El Camino Community College District (CA) Board President John Vargas as Vice President; Coconino County (AZ) Supervisor Elizabeth “Liz” Archuleta as Treasurer; and California State Senator Ricardo Lara as Secretary.

Pico Rivera (Calif.) Mayor Gustavo V. Camacho, Hudson County (NJ) County Clerk E. Junior Maldonado, Texas State Representative Armando A. Martinez, Albuquerque Public Schools (NM) Board Member Peggy L. Muller-Aragon, Miami-Dade County Schools (Fla.) Board Member Lubby Navarro, Orange Unified School District (Calif.) Board member John Ortega, and New York State Senator Jose Gustavo Rivera were also unanimously elected to serve an initial three-year term on the NALEO Board of Directors.

“I am honored to be re-elected to another term as NALEO President and grateful to have these extraordinary leaders joining the NALEO Board of Directors during a critical time for our community. With their help, this organization will continue to empower the Latino community, strengthen our democracy and help our nation’s Latino elected officials develop the leadership and governance skills they need to be effective advocates for their communities,” said NALEO President and Dallas County Treasurer Pauline Medrano.

Seven members of the NALEO Board of Directors were also re-elected to serve a second three-year term. These individuals include Gadsden Elementary School District (Ariz.) Board Member Tadeo de la Hoya, Tarrant County (Texas) Justice of the Peace Sergio de Leon, Colorado Speaker of the House of Representatives Crisanta Duran, Florida State Senator Anitere Flores, California State Senator Ricardo Lara, Corona (Calif.) Councilmember Eugene Montanez, and El Camino Community College (Calif.) Board President John Vargas.